Get Adobe Flash player
Sunday, 17 December 2017
Yom Rishon, 29 Kislev 5778



Starting January 2012, In the Rabbis Dust will be posted here in audio format. Look out for it soon!





Reaching you with the
Messiah's good news






Send us your comments or questions

The Four Species

Some traditional differences may vary.


During the Feast of Sukkot (Tabernacles) there are four particular species that are used for the ritual waving with what is known as a lulav. The lulav is a wand combined of the three trees that are mentioned in the Torah (books of Moses). Together the worshiper holds the wand in one right hand and holds the fruit called an Etrog or citron that looks like a lemon in the other left hand.  This lulav wand is waved in all directions from North, to South, to East and To West; it is even waved upward towards heaven and downwards towards earth or the ground.

While the lulav is in waving motion the following words are sang in worship to Elohim (God).  ( Hoe-do  Le'  Adoe-nai  Key-tov,  Key Le' oh-lam chas-doe) which means; Praise God, for God is good. God’s love is everlasting. Also while the lulav is being waved in all directions this is being done to symbolize that we know that God is every in all places at all times. And when we wave the lulav and hold it all together at the same time, we do this to symbolize that we will serve God with all our hearts, souls and might and with all our thoughts and words at all times and in all places.


The symbolism of the Etrog, Palm branch, Willow and Myrtle branches

It is said or thought that the 1. Etrog-citron fruit is a representative of the heart of man.  For from out of the depths of the heart the mouth confesses its sins, and then receives the abundance of forgiveness from God that makes the heart spiritually glad and truly joyful. The (lulav)-2. Palm branch is said to be a symbol of victory and of righteousness, the color of the palm branch, which is green, symbolizes worship and only those who have been made righteous by God can truly honor him with holy worship and thanksgiving. 3. The Myrtle branch (Hadasim) is said to be made like the eyes. For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are open to hear their prayers. The last branch is the 4. Willow (Aravot) and it is said to be shaped after the mouth, and with the mouth one speaks or tells of all the mercies and mighty acts and deeds of Elohim-God the Lord of Host. 1. Mans hearts is truly content and satisfied when he walks in a forgiven life style 2. Man is only made righteous by the sacrifice of God 3. God 's eyes are always on the just to deliver them from evil. 4. Those who speak the word of God reveal his goodness, love and mercy to those who have need.